

EUROPEAN SPACE AGENCY

Vacancy in the Directorate of Technical and Quality Management

The European Space Agency is an equal opportunity employer and encourages applications from women

POST	Electromagnetic Compatibility Engineer (2 posts) in the Electromagnetic Compatibility (EMC) Section, Electromagnetics and Space Environment Division of the Electrical Engineering Department, <u>Directorate of Technical and Quality Management</u> .
	This post is classified in the A2/A4 grade band of the Coordinated Organisations' salary scale.
LOCATION	ESTEC, Noordwijk (Netherlands).
DUTIES	The postholder will be part of the EMC team and will report to the Head of the Electromagnetic Compatibility Section. The responsibilities will include :
	• formulating, developing and undertaking the technical management of activities for EMC testing and verification techniques under the Agency's technology programmes;
	• assessing EMC analytical software tools and the results obtained using such tools;
	• providing functional support in EMC engineering to Agency projects through all phases of the project life cycle, including:
	 defining and analysing EMC requirements on system level as well as on equipment level; defining EMC test and verification procedures for spacecraft equipment and systems; electromagnetic and circuit analyses; assessing EMC test results, non-conformances and waiver requests; troubleshooting activities for spacecraft equipment and systems causing electromagnetic interference; actively participating in spacecraft or payload system reviews from SRR (system requirements review) to FAR (flight acceptance review).
	• developing specific EMC test methods for application to spacecraft or equipment, using the EMC Section laboratory.

QUALIFICATIONS	Applicants for this post should have a Master's degree or equivalent qualification in electromagnetics or electrical engineering with a comprehensive background in electromagnetics and analysis. Experience and knowledge in the field of EMC engineering is
	required, including test methods and experience in testing with the relevant instrumentation. A good background in related disciplines such as power, RF technology, software technology, analogue and digital circuits is an asset, as is experience of working on projects within industry.
	Candidates should have good interpersonal and communication skills. They should have the ability to work autonomously, effectively and cooperatively in a diverse and international team environment and to define and implement solutions in line with team and individual objectives and project deadlines.
	In addition, applicants should have good analytical, organisational and reporting skills, a proactive attitude to solving problems and an interest in innovative technologies.
	The working languages of the Agency are English and French. A good knowledge of one of these languages is required. Knowledge of another member state language is an asset.
CLOSING DATE	The closing date for applications is 05 May 2014 .
	Applications from external candidates for this post should preferably be made <u>online</u> from the ESA website (<u>www.esa.int/careers</u>). Those unable to apply online should submit their CV to Human Resources, ESTEC, Keplerlaan 1, 2201 AZ Noordwijk ZH, The Netherlands.
	ESA staff members wishing to apply for this post should fill in the <u>Internal Application Form</u> and email it to <u>Apply2ESTEC</u> .

The Agency may require applicants to undergo selection tests.

Priority will first be given to internal candidates and secondly to external candidates from under-represented member states.

In accordance with the European Space Agency's security procedures and as part of the selection process, successful candidates will be required to undergo basic screening before appointment.

Under ESA Regulations, the age limit for recruitment is 55. Please note that applications are only considered from nationals of one of the following States: Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the United Kingdom and Canada.