WEBMAIL    |    Intranet    |    Site Map



ROSA President, Head of Romania’s Delegation at the 2019 International Astronautical Congress, Washington DC

on 23 October 2019

The President of the Romanian Space Agency (ROSA), Dr. Phys Marius-Ioan Piso, is the head of Romania’s delegation at the world’s largest annual gathering of space professionals — the 70th International Astronautical Congress (IAC) — and associated events, taking place between 21–25 October 2019, in Washington, D.C.

The Vice President of the United States of America, Mike Pence, NASA administrator, Jim Bridenstine, American astronaut and Apollo-Soyuz commander, Thomas Stafford and American astronaut, Edwin Aldrin, recipient of the International Astronautical Federation (IAF) award for the Apollo 11 Mission, were also taking part at the opening ceremony of the International Astronautical Congress.

IAC 2019 is a scientific and technical conference with more than 2,000 oral presentations in 181 diverse Technical Sessions and 360 interactive presentations highlighting recent progress in all major areas of space. The IAC exhibition sees over 100 organisations, associations and companies present. Romania is represented at the exhibition stand of the Romanian Space Agency (ROSA). Mr. Piso officially opened the IAC 2019 exhibition together with other heads of space agencies.

During his visit to the US, Mr. Marius-Ioan Piso also participated in a series of multilateral and bilateral meetings, among which the meetings of the Heads of Space Agencies organised by NASA at the United States Senate and at the State Department, as well as the High Level Panel, organised for the 27th Workshop on Space Technology for Socio-Economic Benefits.

The International Astronautical Congress has been held every year since 1950. Global, multidisciplinary, and covering all space sectors and topics, IAC offers everyone the latest space information and above all new contacts and potential partnerships. The IAC is a professional platform through which over 40 administrative and technical committees support the International Astronautical Federation in its mission to advance knowledge about space and to foster the development of space assets by facilitating global cooperation. This year’s theme of the event is "Space: The Power of The Past, The Promise of The Future”. The edition celebrates the 50th anniversary of humans walking on the moon as well as the international accomplishments and partnerships that have become the hallmarks of space exploration.

More information can be found on the website-ul IAC, website-ul IAC al IAF and the website-ul IAC al NASA

2019 10 IAC B 2019 10 IAC C

Images credit: Jim Bridenstine (main image), ROSA (other images)

In the picture, left to right: Javier Mendieta Jiménez, general director of the Mexican Space Agency, Geir Hovmork general secretary of the International Astronautical Federation (IAF), Avi Blasberge, Director General of Israel Space Agency (ISA), Giorgio Saccoccia, President of Italian Space Agency (ASI), Jan Woerner, General Director of the European Space Agency (ESA), Valanathan Munsami, Chief Executive Officer of the South African National Space Agency (SANSA), Shri S. Somanath, director of the Vikram Sarabhai Space Center India, Pascale Ehrenfreund, general director of the German Aerospace Centre (DLR), Jean-Yves LeGall, president of the National Space Studies France (CNES), Jim Bridenstine general director NASA, John S. Langford, president of American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), Hiroshi Yamakawa, administrator of the Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency (JAXA), Marius-Ioan Piso, president of the Romanian Space Agency (ROSA), Sergei Krikalev, executive director for manned space programs of Roscosmos, Kai-Uwe Schrogl, president ofInternational Institute of Space Law, Mohamed Nasser Al Ahbabi, General Director of the United Arab Emirates Space Agency (UAESA), Peter Jankowitsch, President of the International Academy of Astronautics (IAA), Jonathan Hung, president of Singapore Space Agency.